My Z has looked rough since the day I bought it. Clear coat was peeling/cracking, the bumper was destroyed, etc. I would’ve loved to paint the car but I don’t have a garage to work in, so I had to do a drive-way friendly paint-job. That’s why I decided on vinyl.

Overall this project required 5 ft x 42 ft of vinyl which cost me about $370. I also bought a $15 application kit on Amazon. It took maybe 5-6 hours of prep time (sanding clear coat down, removing trim & adhesive, etc) and then maybe 18 or so hours of wrapping. Wrapping vinyl is tough. I think a boxy car like this may be even tougher than modern cars. Watching youtube barely helped. I did get a little better over time but I still haven’t figured out how to do boxy corners well. By the end I embraced seams for the bumpers. Cutting the vinyl and butting it up against a new piece looks way better than wrinkles. Overall the vinyl looks awesome. From 5 ft away it looks great, up close is where it starts to show issues.

Before

After Swapping Bumper and Some Prep

The Finished Wrap

Showing Off Some Defects

I just wanted to be fair and show some of the up close where it gets less pretty.